Drape-tastic Stripe-splosion

Drapetastic stripesplosion

Drape-tastic stripe-splosion: Not your Grandma’s Breton Tee

What? I can’t hear you. Seriously. You need to speak up I can’t hear you over the

-roar of the crowd.

Chevron at the top, eight-lane freeway post-Transformers-battle entanglement at the bottom.

Fabric: Soft, drapey, cotton Modal jersey.

Other cool makes from this pattern: here, here and here.

Summary: It’s an awesome dress, I love it in this jersey-the stripes match up perfectly (except where the folds intentionally distort them but the distortions pretty much match up on both sides too XD). It would work better in a thicker, more stable knit like Ancien-Nouveau’s version.

Overall though, I feel it’s a massive waste of fabric and pattern paper. I’m glad I did it but I won’t be repeating it. For a similar effect in a quarter of the time and with exponentially less wastage of paper, fabric and backache, I would go with the dolman sleeved kit tunic/ dress from Knipmode October 2010 (modelled for May 5 here). You can go nuts with the slash and spread on that pattern for more of a ‘Drape Drape’ effect if you like.

Pattern: Dress 7 from Drape Drape 2 (I sewed up the arm slits, I’m not a fan of things flapping about).

This chick looks suspiciously like Steve Busceme..*

*There is a Tumblr of chicks with Steve Busceme eyes. In the interests of maintaining some semblance of seriousness, I will not link it here. Feel free to Google it up yourself though.

All self generated content is copyright theperfectnose, 2012. All other content is used with permission,  under a fair-use license for purposes of review or under an attribution no derivatives license and remains copyright of original owners. Do not use my words or images without my permission.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 729 other followers