Japonism

Easy peasey bloopertini. And I love it.

Easy Peasy Blooper-tini

I made this dress last year when it was really too cold to wear it and have been getting a lot of use out of it now that the weather is warmer. The fabric is a super light cotton voile, great for summer and with zero snag-factor (but I wear these silk shorts underneath to prevent possible wardrobe malfunctions-great for when I’m on my scooter).

Vena Cava 1228 Review V1228

I made up a size 8 which is described as corresponding to a 31.5’ bust on the pattern envelope and is a size down from my true measurements – so if you’re thinking of sewing this you might want to size down. When in doubt, lay the corresponding pattern piece over a similar garment that fits you well and you’ll know what size you should be using. Or bust out the measuring tape..

No it doesn't look like a sack at all! Why do you ask?

I love the fabric and the style but the silhouette does nothing for my figure. So this is just going to be one of those things that is high in wearability purely due to the comfort factor and the fabric used- I blame theknittingprincess-her beautiful Liberty version (modelled here, details here) turned my head and made me (incorrectly) assume the silhouette would suit me as well as it did her (big ups to her also for suggesting that I size down-the excess ease and lack of sizing consistency in big 4 patterns are exactly why I rarely sew with them). Having said that, I may make this one again. One day.

It has a centre back seam which is awesome for sway back adjustments.

That version's been modified. Totally.Pattern: Vogue 1228 Vena Cava

Fabric: Printed cotton voile.

Modifications: Used a size down from the suggested measurements on the pattern envelope.

Shortened the front and back by 2 cm at the waist.

Omitted the cuff tabs. The cuffs stay up fine without them.

Used a narrow hem presser foot for the hem and all interior seams including those connecting the cuffs to the pseudosleeves.

Other comments: the neckline is pretty wide so I can’t wear it over my favourite bra. Demi-bras work fine though, as does bralessness (although I’d warn against leaning forward if you’re rocking the latter-as I said, the neckline is rather wide).

3D microfibre tights by Fiore.

Raindrops&bellyflops made a very cool version of this pattern (along with an interesting cost-benefit analysis of the sewing involved) here.

I have a little bit more of this voile left and I was wondering what else to make with it. I’m tending towards something blouse-y with insane sleeves or perhaps a simple shirt/ top.

Patrone 252 Shirts 1, 6 and 9

Suggestions?

Disclaimer: All non-self-generated images remain property of their original owners and are used here for purposes of illustration and discussion.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 699 other followers