Mystic Trench + Moss Go-Go Dress

Mythical Trench Coat Patrones Extra 284, #29

Like a cross between something out of Game of Thrones and something out of MadMen-raised by Klingons..

I cut this trench out for velosewer’s Trench Sewalong (inspiration post here) right after finishing my mini-trench (donated to the op-shop not long after) but my sewing machine gave up the ghost halfway through and spent the next two months at the shop.Mythical Trench

Yes it is winter here. Which explains the strange light and overall lack of saturation..

This style is very unstructured (and drop shouldered-why didn’t I notice from the line diagram?) with no fastenings-which works fine because I cross the fronts and tuck the outer one under my bag when I’m out and about.Mythical trench, Umami bag

I will eventually sew in a pair of magnets in the front (when I come across free fridge-advertising material with an acceptable level of magnetism).

Mystic Trench Patrones Extra 294, #29

The waist (surprisingly) hits exactly at my natural waistline (I’m a Burdastyle petite i.e. 2 cm shorter than average). The back skirt has a bunch of box pleats that emphasise the area somewhat..

Moss-green raw silk dress Patrones 309, no. 20

Pattern booby-trap alert: the cowl is way too narrow to get a human head through-and not just on my graded-down version either: after sewing it up without a care (Patrones patterns fit me out of the box yo, why bother? Famous second-last words-the last words were all four lettered) and realising I couldn’t actually get into it I measured the neck width on all sizes and realised whatever garment it was based off of probably had a centre back seam invisible zipper (helpfully omitted from the Patrones version).

Moss green raw silk cowl dress gold facing

I narrowed the cowl seams to the absolute bleedin’ (fraying more like it) edges and now I can just about get it over my head. Lucky raw silk has a lotta give. Ha.

Anyway-it’s great for any event that involves eating. Using a stiff fabric instead of the drapey stuff used in the magazine means the dress has a firm inverted cone shape that successfully masks any lunch-baby curves.

Moss green raw silk cowl dress, deco stockings

Also great if you plan on being a backup singer in a soul group.

How awesome were the seventies? Every single person in that video is fit.

Which reminds me: the next SoulAGoGo (which looks interesting based purely off their Facewank page) will be on the 6th of July, 2013 and Roxy’s getting a bunch of sewistas together in wiggle dresses for a meetup at the event. If you’re in, sign up at her blog.

Speaking of sewists’ meetups, here’s a bunch of us at the V&A Hollywood Costume exhibit at ACMI:

Day/Night Out Sewist's Meetup

From left: Kathleen (blog-less and fancy-free), Nicole, Emily (bustin’ out the medical tricorder for a last minute scan), moi, Jenny and Roxy (the only shot out of seven that didn’t feature blinking/haze/shakiness/or other seizure-inducing effects).

If you’d like to come along for the next day/night meetup, enter your details here and I’ll send you an invite to the next do I organise.

Pattern Details

Mythical trench + Gogo dress patterns

Trench Pattern: Patrones Extra 284, Trench 29

Trench Fabric: Crushed faux silk (super warm due to being 99% non-breathable)

Modifications: None. Be warned: this means it is a petite pattern.

I omitted the pockets and shortened the shoulder width because I don’t like wearing drop-shouldered styles but this was for style not fit. The fit is perfect for me as is.

Dress Pattern: Patrones 306, Dress 20

Dress Fabric: Raw silk in dark Moss, cowl faced with gold charmeuse silk

Modifications: Shortened 2 cm at the waist, widened neck by a whopping 1.8 cm

Inner seams and hems for both garments finished using a narrow hem foot.

Deco tights by Fiore.

Felt bag pattern

Bag Pattern: Bag 30 from Umami by Yoshimi Ezura

Bag Fabric: Avocado faux suede furnishing fabric lined in pencil print vintage cotton

Modifications: Sewed and lined it normally instead of externally as shown on the felt version in the book

All non-self-generated images and videos remain copyright of their original owners and are used here for the purposes of discussion and review. 

44 thoughts on “Mystic Trench + Moss Go-Go Dress

  1. I LOVE the go-go dress the silk just looks stunning IRL. But what were they thinking with the neck hole fail, they must have tested the pattern on someone like me who has a RIDICULOUSLY small head. Anyway, I think it is a perfect dress for the dance off ;-). Thanks for the shout out for the event as well. I hope marking is going OK.

    • Thanks! Burda does have the more consistent fit but Patrones beats everyone else on cutting-edge styles (except maybe La Mia Boutique-sadly the latter has become somewhat of a rarity here in Australia..)

    • Hahaha thanks! I’ve been here all this time-just too busy teaching+marking to get any sewing done. Strangely-I haven’t missed it at all.. Possibly because most the holes in my wardrobe have been filled.. XD

  2. Gosh raw silk is delicious. And that olive green/moss colour is one of my most favourites. You do it justice! The crinkle-i-ness of your closure-free trench is lovely too :) I’m booked into go see the hollywood thing in August – very much looking forward to it! And such a lovely group shot of you all, too :) I can’t see the video (my work blocks all things that are fun. I’m waiting for the day they put a full stop to my blogging/commenting activities during working hours) so that’ll have to wait for another time. Nice to see you round these (online) parts again! I’m defintiely going to try and make your next friday night session. See you soon :)

  3. Haha I had never really considered being a soul group backup singer till now, but damn! you and your swanky dress are making me consider things I had never considered before!! Time to throw in the tea towel and pick up the mic…. laaaaaaaa

    Hey do I have to officially send you my details for meetups? :p And by the way…. Emily what the devil are you doing in that photo, mate?!!

  4. Wow! what a great dress for dancing! And the trench is beautifull.
    I am not quite sure if I like Burdapatterns, but yours turned out fabulous (wanna have pieces ;0)

  5. Awesome, thanks for posting – You looked amazing! Gorgeous colours and fit on you.
    It was a really fun visit, so many glorious old costumes that yes, I just wanted to be able to see more of, but being there with such a lovely group of sewists was such fun ;)
    Thank you so much for organising – and can I stay on the ‘please include me list’ ;)

  6. That color is gorgeous, and is absolutely stunning on you! I’m finding myself attracted to similar dress shapes, whereas my former life was filled with more fitted waists.

    I love your glamorous trench coat, and definitely appreciate your magnetic thriftiness.

    • hahaha thanks-the first dress I made was a tent and the second had a fitted natural waist so I think I’ve found I’ve found my happy middle ground with various tunic styles XD

  7. Oh wow the trench is heart breaking. I want it! Love the fabrics you choose, always so unique. I try to stick with organic but do you have sources of where you get yours from?

    • Thanks Mary. Online, I get organic knit fabrics from craftymamas Australia or the Ottobre store on Etsy. IRL I pick up wovens from The Fabric Store on Brunswick Street whenever they get the odd Organic stuff. That’s pretty much it apart from the odd Etsy find. It’s pretty difficult to find Organic fabric in Melbourne so I just buy the regular stuff and wash the Sh*t out of before using it XD

  8. Just caught up with this – ahhh the memories, trying to perm whispy fine blond hair into an Afro, and wishing my midriff could take exposure.

Have your say (or respond @realperfectnose on twitter).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers