Red

Burda102009_116_3I love this dress.

It oozes a tonne of va va voom for what is, essentially, a basic sheath with front and back waist darts. The Oomph is in the silhouette-it looks like you’re in the middle of undressing. All of the time. 

Burda102009_116_2

Details: Two toned raw silk (Indian dupion) fully lined in black Japanese rayon and faced at the neckline and arm holes in self fabric. Invisible zipper up the back.

Burda102009_116_13Just want to say thank you to everyone that wrote to check up on me or just to say hello. I’ve been through a lot of changes since I last posted.

Thanks, also, to Jenny for taking these awesome photos (at the Bundoora Homestead) and sharing a weekend of hanging out and chillaxing.

Yes Jenny is actually a Hayao Miyazaki Character.

Keep it real ladies.

Burda World of Fashion 10/2009 Dress 116

Pattern: Burda 10/2009, Dress 116

Fabric: Red two toned raw silk

Modifications: Omitted the bow at the back, shortened at the hem by 5 cm.

Tights by Fiore, shoes Ristretto by John Fluevog.

Burda World of Fashion 10/2009 Dress 116

71 thoughts on “Red

  1. Hi! Love it… has certainly lots of “va va voom” … the bow would have been one of those superfluous details that make you wonder “W…hy?”

  2. Finally you are back! And so pretty, too. I was a little bit worried about your absence, now I sit here smiling :-) Hope you’re back for good.
    Gonna read your entry now, did not have the time because I needed to say hello first :-D

  3. I was wondering how things were going for you, thought you were busy with your studies. This dress is so beautiful on you, now I just NEED this pattern!

  4. I’ve been thinking about you lately. Wondering where my fav bloggers have gone too. My reader just isn’t the same. Glad you are back and with such a fabulous dress!

  5. You’ve been missed, Tj! You look fab in the red dress, I think it’s very “you”. Great pictures too. I’m glad you and Jenny had a great weekend!

  6. STUNNING. And I just adore the back line and demure but uber classy frontline. The luster of that silk is dreamy. Ever glad to have you back – I have often wondered about you these last few month. Some great sewing to slide you back I to what I hope is regular posting :)

  7. Red dress and high heels! So good to see your lovely face back on your blog! I like this intriguing back opening: it’s much more sexy than the décolleté! Looking forward to reading you more often.

  8. Great to see you back, whatever has been going on in your life you sure do look well on it. The dress is absolutely stunning on you. I was just thinking about you recently as I took your advice and dyed a boring grey dress I made dark red, soooo much better. Not in the same league as your little number though – what was the occasion?

    • Thanks Alison-much appreciated! The occasion was wanting to see a party dress for a do+the new guy accompanying me to the do ;) can’t wait to see your fab red dress!

  9. Welcome back – you were missed. This dress is fab. The front is so elegant and classic, while the back of this dress oozes sexy. Love the choice of fabric. This is one of those dresses that will look as stylish in 20 years as it does today.

  10. You are back!!! I´m so glad to see your beautiful face again, your hair has grown since last time and you look stunning in your new dress.
    I´ve missed you!

  11. happy and relieved to have you back. i wanted to send a note, but figured that you were in the midst of something and needed space.
    btw you look great

  12. You look gorgeous in that red silk color! Also I get that sometimes life gets in the way- I haven’t opened my blog reader in months (probably need to purge it out.). Glad to hear you are doing well though and getting some sewing in ;)

    • Thanks babe! We need to have a good old fashioned catchup soon-even if it’s just a digital one. Glad to see you’re around and hope everything’s improved massively!

  13. I came across your blog while looking for a book review and was struck by your red dress (literally!). Gosh, the last time I heard ( or saw ) the words dupion silk was when I was sari shopping in India. Your kantha sari dress in your other post was brilliant! Now I know what to do with old hand-me-down saris ;-)

    • Thanks Judith, that’s very kind of you. Yes, old saris are great 5 yards of fabric + trimming and contrast panel means a pretty solid foundation for whatever project you’re planning (and them some, to cover any potential errors)!

Have your say (or respond @realperfectnose on twitter).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers