Blooper: Patrones 272 Dress 5

Yes there is a button there..

This is something visually off-kilter about the proportions of this dress (aside from the fact that the pearl neckline makes my head look like a lollipop). I should’ve terminated the front button stand at the third-last button (or between the third last and second last buttons). The stiff, low stretch knit I used for a tester doesn’t help either.

Kinda mod and kinda uniform-ish

It’s a tad better with the collar ironed down, but this one’s definitely heading to the charity bin. I wore it to Uni once and it wasn’t spectacular. I meant to make it up in a drapey black silk jersey similar to the one in the pattern photograph, but I don’t think I’ll bother.

The fabric doesn't drape too well.

I wore it out with silk shorts under. It drapes a lot better that way but fit isn’t perfect. The sleeve mods are pretty awesome though.

Schumacher dress Patrones 272, No. 5

Pattern: Patrones 272, Dress 5, Schumacher.

Fabric: Stable poly knit with a lining side on the inside (zero tights snaggage-priceless).

Modifications: Shortened 2 cm at waist. Didn’t cut one of the sleeve extensions on the bias due to lack of yardage. That made the sleeve too tight so I graded back the sleeve hem to fit.

Tights by Fiore.

All non-self-generated images remain copyright of their original owners and are used here for purposes of illustration, discussion and review.